Octapus - Cyclades• Amorgos • Anáfe • Ándros • Antíparos • Délos • Escháte  • Folégandros 

• Íos • Kéa • Kímolos • Kýthnos • Mélos • Mýkonos • Náxos • Páros 

• Sérifos • Sífnos • Síkinos • Sýros • Ténos • Théra (Santoríni)

The Cyclades comprise about 220 islands, the major ones mentioned above.
Most of the smaller islands are uninhabited.

Ermoupolis, on Syros, is the chief town and administrative center of the former prefecture.

The islands are peaks of a submerged mountainous terrain, with the exception of two volcanic islands, Milos and Santorini  (Thera). The climate is generally dry and mild, but with the exception of Naxos the soil is not very fertile: agricultural produce includes wine, fruit, wheat, olive oil, and tobacco.  Cooler temperatures are in higher elevations and mainly do not receive wintry weather.

The Cyclades are bounded to the south by the Sea of Crete.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.