Ionian Islands

The Ionian Islands  are a group of islands in Greece. They are traditionally called the Heptanese, i.e. “the Seven Islands” , but the group includes many smaller islands as well as the seven principal ones.

The seven are, from north to south:

Kerkyra usually known as Corfu in English
Paxi also known as Paxos in English
Lefkada also known as Lefkas in English
Ithaki usually known as Ithaca in English
Kefalonia often known as Kefalonia, Cephalonia and Kefallinia in English
Zakynthos sometimes known as Zante in English
Kythira sometimes known as Cerigo in English

The six northern islands are off the west coast of Greece, in the Ionian Sea. The seventh island, Kythira, is off the southern tip of the Peloponnese, the southern part of the Greek mainland. Kythira is not part of the peripheryof theIonian Islands, as it is included in the periphery of Attica..


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *