The Smaller Cyclades

The Smaller Cyclades are a cluster of a few small islands in the eastern part of the Cyclades. The major ones of these small islands are Donousa, Koufonisia (Upper and Lower Koufonissi), Keros, Schinoussa and Iraklia. All inhabited except for Keros.

On our way to Kato Koufonisi
On our way to Kato Koufonisi

The cluster extending southeast and northwest in between Naxos and Amorgos. Famous for their sandy beaches, leeward between the towering mountains of Naxos and Amorgos which are creating a sheltered paradise of recreation. Connected daily by ferry to Naxos and Amorgos and directly to the port of Piraeus several times a week.

Glaronisi, seen from Pano Koufonisi, Cyclades
Glaronisi, seen from Pano Koufonisi
Donousa, Smaller Cyclades
Donousa Beach
Cycladic figure from Keros island, today at Louvre, Paris
Cycladic figure from Keros island

Other smaller islets of the Smaller Cyclades group is Avelonisia, Agios Andreas, Agrilia, Aspronisi (or Ligari), Venetiko, Bulgari, Glaronisi, Klidoura, Lazarus, the Makares islets, the Melantia islets, Moschonas, Ofidoussa, the Plakes islets, Plaki, Prasoura, Scandia, Skylonisi and Tsouloufi. All of  these islets are uninhabited.