File:Greek Macedonia map with subdivisions.svg

Macedonia borders the neighboring peripheries of Thessaly to the south, Thrace (part of the East Macedonia and Thrace periphery) to the east and Epirus to the west. It also borders Albania to the north-west, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) to the north and Bulgaria to the north-east. The three Macedonian peripheries and their subdivisions are:

West Macedonia: Kastoria  2 Florina  3 Kozani  4 Grevena

Central Macedonia: 5 Edessa  6 Veria  7 Katerini  8 Kilkis
Thessaloniki  10 Chalkidiki (Polygyros)  11 Serres

East Macedonia: 12 Drama  13 Kavala  14 Thassos  15 Mount Athos (Karyos)

Places worthwhile visiting: • Ancient Pella
• Vergina (Ancient Aigeai)

Vergia sunMacedonia is a geographical and historical region of the Balkan peninsula in southeastern Europe. Its boundaries have changed considerably over time, but nowadays the region is considered to include parts of five Balkan countries: Greece, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Bulgaria, Albania, Serbia, as well as Kosovo. It covers approximately 67,000 square kilometres (25,869 sq mi) and has a population of 4.76 million.

Its oldest known settlements date back approximately 9,000 years. From the middle of the 4th century BC, the Kingdom of Macedon became the dominant power in Greece and the neighbouring regions; since then Macedonia has had a diverse history. Prior to its expansion under Phillip II, the ancient kingdom of Macedonia, to which the modern region owes its name, lay entirely within the current Greek province of Macedonia.

Macedonia or Macedon was an ancient kingdom, centered in the northeastern part of the Greek peninsula, bordered by Epirus to the west, Paeonia to the north, the region of Thrace to the east and Thessaly to the south. The rise of Macedon, from a small kingdom at the periphery of Classical Greek affairs, to one which came to dominate the entire Hellenic world, occurred under the reign of Phillip II. For a brief period, after the conquests of Alexander the Great, it became the most powerful state in the world, controlling a territory that included the former Persian empire, stretching as far as the Indus River; at that time it inaugurated the Hellenistic period of Ancient Greek civilization.

Thessaloniki is a major port city and industrial center; Kavala is the second harbor of Macedonia. Apart from the principal airport at Thessaloniki (Makedonia Airport), airports also exist in Kavala (M. Alexandros Airport), Kozani (Filippos Airport), and Kastoria (Aristotelis Airport). The “Via Egnatia” motorway crosses the full distance of Macedonia, linking most of its main cities. It also has a train system; it is usually criticized for being underfunded, and there has been much anger directed against OSE, the national railway company.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.